After months of subjecting Nigerians to speculations over his second term bid, President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday accepted his nomination by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as its sole candidate for the 2015 presidential election.


Accordingly, the president, who set between November 7 and 15, 2014, for his formal declaration, also set up a declaration committee to be chaired by former defence minister, Dr. Bello Haliru Mohammed.

Jonathan made his intention known while presiding over a meeting of party stakeholders, including PDP governors and the party leadership, at the Presidential Villa.

Although journalists were not briefed on the outcome of the meeting, an impeccable source at the parley said the board of the declaration committee had geopolitical representation as follows: South-South, North-East and North-Central had six members each, South-East, South-West, North-West had five each while FCT had one.

The soured told State House correspondents on condition of anonymity that the declaration committee had Haliru Bello Mohammed, a former PDP national Chairman from Kebbi State as chairman, with former Senate President Ken Nnamani (Enugu) as deputy, while the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Sen. Anyim Pius Anyim (Ebony) is to serve the secretary.

Other members of the committee include the Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Prof. Rufa?i Ahmed Alkali (Gombe), a Senior Special Assistant (SSA) on Youth, Julius Imagwe (Edo) and Dr. Baraka Sani (SSA -NSAP), Kano.

Governors nominated to represent their zones on the board of the committee are Liyel Imoke of Cross River (South South), Theodore Orji of Abia (South East), Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo (South West), Dr. Mua?zu Babangida Aliyu of Niger (North Central), Ibrahim Shema of Katsina (North West) and Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe (North East).

Those appointed to represent the National Assembly on the board include Sen. Hosea Agbola (Oyo), Sen. Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna), Hon. Bitrus Kaze (Plateau) and Hon. Salmas Badru (Ogun).

Nominated to represent the Federal Executive Council (FEC) on the board are Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Dieziani Allison-Madueke (Bayelsa), Minister of Police Affairs Alhaji Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Women Affairs Hajiya Zainab Maina (Adamawa) and Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Sen. Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).

Those to represent the PDP in the committee include its deputy national chairman Prince Uche Secondus (Rivers), Benue State chapter chairman Chief Emmanuel Egbo (Benue), national women leader Kema Chikwe (Imo) and North West zonal chairman Amb. Ibrahim Kazaure (Jigawa).

Representing party stakeholders on the board are Sen. Stella Umo (Delta), Sen. Walid Jibirn, BOT Secretary (Nasarawa), Ibrahim Bunu (Borno), Rev. Jolly Nyame (Taraba), Sen. Aneta Okon (Akwa Ibom), Peter Obi (Anambra), Mrs. Remi Adiuku Bakare (Lagos) and Gen. A. B. Mamman ? PDP national youth leader ? (FCT).

Others appointed on the discretion of the president include Barr. Halima Alfa (Kogi), Nigeria?s Ambassador to the Netherlands Dr. (Mrs.) Nimota Nihinlola Akanbi (Kwara), FCT ALGON chairman Hon. Micah Yohanna Jiba (FCT) and Hon. Sam Ikon (Akwa Ibom).



Source:?Saint Mienpamo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.