Ghana?s longest Foreign Affairs Minister ,Dr. Obed Yao Asamoah has been honoured together with two other distinguished personalities who also served the country on foreign mission abroad namely H.E Ambassador Daniel Chapman Nyaho of blessed memory and H.E Ambassador Ebenezer Moses Debrah by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.

At a ceremony held over the weekend in Accra, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration Hon. Hannah Tetteh noted that as the Ministry continues to advance Government?s promise of carrying out a dynamic and people centred Foreign Policy, in which the ordinary Ghanaian continues to benefit from the country?s socio-economic and political relations with the rest of the world, it is imperative that the country remember the good example set for by these three stalwarts.

She said the Foreign Affairs Ministry has been in the forefront of Ghana?s efforts at maintaining regional and sub-regional peace and security and integration through her active role in the AU and ECOWAS and its unwavering commitment to the various decisions, resolutions and protocols that guide these regional mechanisms.

She further maintained that pursuant to the Presidential Directive for enhanced dialogue and engagement between the government and Ghanaians in the Diaspora for national development, the Ministry has established a Diaspora Affairs Bureau. ?In furtherance of its diaspora objectives, the Ministry, in July 2014, hosted Listening Events in London, Washington, New York and Brussels to engage professionals to discuss issues ranging from health and education to infrastructural development.  Further to this, the Ministry in collaboration with the International Centre for Migration Policy Development under the MIEUX Project of the European Union has developed a project paper proposal and action plan for the development of a Diaspora Engagement Policy? she added.

The Main Auditorium was named after Dr Obed Asamoah, who served as PNDC Secretary for Foreign Affairs from 1982 to 1993 and Minister of Foreign Affairs from 1993 to 1997, thus making him the longest serving Foreign Minister of Ghana.

Popular Conference Room ?A? was dedicated to H.E Daniel Chapman Nyaho, who was Ghana?s First Permanent Representative to United Nations from 1957 to 1959. The second Conference Room commonly referred to as Conference Room ?B? was also named after H.E Ambassador E. M. Debrah, the First Permanent Representative of Ghana to the Organisation of Africa Unity (OAU) from 1963 to 1967.

Source: The Republic


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.