Mr Dan Botwe, incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Okere, in the Eastern Region has retained his seat.       

This brings to four consecutive times the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had won the seat since 2000.    

Mr Botwe, who is the former General Secretary of the NPP, won this year?s contest with 15,165 votes representing 60.16 per cent, as against 9,680 votes by Mr George Opare Addo of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).       

Other candidates such as Asante Solomon Roger, of the Progressive People?s Party (PPP), polled 219 votes, which represents 0.8 per cent, Kwabena Owusu-Darko, of the Convention People?s Party (CPP), had 133 votes or 0.87 per cent, with Vitaarshie Yaw Isaac, an Independent candidate, polling 11 votes, representing 0.04 per cent and Bernice Amoah Odoi, of the National Democratic Party (NDP), with 17 votes.       

In the presidential election, the NPP presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, polled 15,050 votes, Mr John Dramani Mahama of the NDC having 9,806 votes; the Great Consolidated People?s Party (GCPP) had 76 votes, PPP 106 votes, People?s National Convention (PNC), seven votes, CPP, 44 votes, Independent Candidate, 33 votes.       

Speaking to the Ghana News Agency (GNA) in an interview on Monday, Mr Botwe thanked the people of Okere for the confidence reposed in him and promised to continue with the good work he had started for the people.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.