Seventy Special Marshalls of the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) serving in Kogi State have been sacked for non-performance and other acts of indiscipline.

The outgoing State Coordinator of the Special Marshall Command of the FRSC, Joseph Solomon stated this in Lokoja on Sunday while giving the account of his four-year stewardship.

He added that the sack has reduced the number of special marshals in the state from 319 to 242. Solomon explained that aside the sack, the entire Obajana Unit had also been scrapped for being inactive in road activities, non-attendance of meetings and non-payment of dues.

He said that the Command presently has 17 units of Special Road Marshalls spread across the three senatorial districts of the state and appealed for the establishment of more units for effective traffic control on all major streets of the state.

Solomon was recently elected the Zonal Coordinator of the FRSC Special Marshall Command for Ekiti, Kwara and Kogi States. He urged the incoming executive to sustain and improve upon the legacies of transparency, accountability, unity, honesty and hard work.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.