It was a sad day for all Tanzanians who turned up at Azam stadium, led by Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) President Jamal Malinzi. Tanzanite were mesmerised throughout the game by the well consolidated Zambian youth.

Under veteran coach Rogasian Kaijage, the Tanzanite were completely overshadowed by the She-polopolo and trailed 3-0 at the breather.

Shepolopolo goals were scored by Memory Phiri in the fourth minute, Irene Lungu in the 20th minute and Barbara Banda in the 33rd minute.

Zambia were a more rejuvenated side on resumption and scored the fourth goal in the second half and added the fourth trough Marry Wilombe who converted a penalty in the 50th minute through Wilombe.

Referee Ibrahim of Sudan awarded the penalty when Anastazia Anthony was fouled inside the box by Zambia?s Memory Phiri. The Tanzanite now need to score five unaswered goals against the She-polopolo to advance in the next round.

Tanzanite: Najjiat Abbas, Zuwena Aziz, Happiness Hezron, Maimuna Hamisi, Anastazia Anthony, Donisia Daniel, Hamisa Athumani, Neema Paulo, Asha Shaaban Hamza/Janet Cloudy dk40, Shelider Boniphace and Stumai Abdallah.

Zambia: Hezel Natasha Nali, Mary Wilombe/Osala Kaelo dk75, Margaret Belemu, Martha Tembo, Mlika Limwanya, Lwendo Chisamu, Esther Mukwasa, Irene Lungu, Grace Chanda, Barbara Banda and Memory Phiri/Agnes Musesa.

Source Tanzania Daily News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.