Accra Turf Club
Accra Turf Club

The Accra Turf Club (ATC) Witsun fourth run horserace comes off at Borteyman on Saturday, April 28, 2018.

The Witsun horseracing is organised continuously for seven weeks after Easter festivities to entertain lovers of the sport.


Mr Samuel Nii Armah Turkson, the Secretary of the Board of Stewards of ATC in an interview with the GNA Sports, urged owners to send their horses to the race course on time.

He said under the first race, the Korle Bu Purse; eight horses would compete under Division ‘3B’ with a distance of seven furlongs covering 1,400 metres, whilst the second race, Aburi Stakes would cover 1,000 metres at seven furlongs in Division ‘4A’ and ‘4C’ with 12 horses competing.

The third race dubbed Polo Handicap would feature in Division ‘2B’ and ‘3A’, covering a distance of 1,400 metres with 13 horses involved.

Mr Turkson said the Novies Division being the fourth race dubbed Ayawaso Stakes would have 22 horses competing over a distance of 1,200 metres.

The results of the last week Witsun race on Saturday 21, were in the first races, Happiness emerged winner of the Osu Handicap followed by Diva and Sweet Morinus, second and third respectively.
The second races dubbed Osu Ashanti Purse was won by Yaayi with Who is Free and Mercedes placing second and third respectively.

Baafira won the third races with Die Hard and Simple Great coming second and third in the Osu Kinkawe competition respectively whilst the Osu Alata Purse competition was won by Wizer and Abin Wani and African Queen placing second and third respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.