United Nation
UN Logo

Fifteen countries have been elected into the United Nations Human Rights Council by the UN General Assembly.

In a vote on Monday, Afghanistan, Angola, Australia, Chile, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Qatar, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain and Ukraine were elected.

They will serve a three-year term as from Jan. 1, 2018.

Among the 15 outgoing members — Albania, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, the Republic of Congo, El Salvador, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Latvia, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, Portugal and Qatar — 11 members except Botswana, the Republic of Congo, India and Indonesia were eligible for re-election. Nigeria and Qatar, which sought a second three-year term, succeeded in their bid.

The UN Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body responsible for promoting and protecting human rights around the world. Its 47 members are elected by secret ballot. A majority of 97 votes is needed for election. Enditem

Source: Xinhua/NewsGhana.com.gh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.