Court Judges
Court Judges

The Judicial Council has removed three magistrates from office without benefits following a resolution at its emergency meeting on Monday December 7, 2015 on grounds of misbehaviour under article 15 (1) of the 1992 Constitution.

Court Judges
Court Judges

They are: His Worship Kaakyire Atta Owusu, His Worship Isaac Amoah and His Worship Stephen Azuure.


A statement signed by Judicial Secretary Justice Alex B. Poku-Acheampong said the names of the three were left out when the Council announced its unanimous decision last week to remove from office 20 out of the 21 Circuit Court judges and District Magistrates investigated by the Disciplinary Committee for their involvement in acts of bribery as exposed by investigative journalists Anas Aremeyaw Anas and his Tiger Eye PI team.

“This is because letters informing them of the Judicial Council’s resolution to remove them from office had not reached them at the time the announcement was made,” the statement stated.

A High Court registrar and a judicial officer, Mr Kofi Kyere, has also been dismissed without benefits for stated misbehaviour under Article 151 (1) of the 1992 constitution. He is among the staff cited in the petition by Tiger Eye PI.

Also, disciplinary action has been taken against four junior staff who are not judicial officers but were cited in the petition.

They are Peace Abuadzi, Circuit Court Registrar; Daniel Dzata, District Court Registrar; Elias Nkansah, Assistant Registrar; and Eric Ayensu, a messenger.

The Disciplinary Committee, however, did not establish any act of misconduct against Benjamin Agyepong, a driver of the service, who was also cited in the petition by Tiger Eye PI. His interdiction, according to the statement, has, therefore, been lifted with immediate effect.

Source: Ghana/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.