Serena Williams
Serena Williams

Serena Williams romped past Spaniard Carla Suarez Navarro 6-2, 6-0 in less than an hour on Saturday to win
her eighth title at the Miami Masters.

Serena Williams
Serena Williams

Williams, WTA world No. 1 player, has now won her last dozen finals. The last final she lost was in Cincinnati 2013 against Victoria Azarenka.
Williams now owns 66 titles and become the fourth woman to win the same tournament eight times in the Open era, joining Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert and Steffi Graf.
Williams produced 27 winners against three to her 12th-seeded opponent, lifting the trophy in just 56 minutes.
Navarro remains with just one career title, a clay trophy from last spring in the discontinued Estoril tournament.
The Spaniard will move into the top 10 in WTA ranking for the first time in her career on Monday.
Williams has now won 18 straight matches in Miami. She repeated her
own record of winning three straight Miami titles (2002-2004) with
the only other woman to accomplish the feat being Graf (1994-1996).
Navarro was the first Spanish woman to reach the final at
Miami since Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario won the second of her two titles
in 1993 over Graf. Enditem

Source: Xinhua


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.