The Second Edition of UT Bank – Ghana Entrepreneur Awards, an initiative to honour and recognise outstanding achievements of Ghanaian and Foreign resident entrepreneurs in Small, Medium and Large Scale Enterprises (SMLEs) is scheduled in Accra.

The awards are billed for the State Banquet Hall in Accra on Saturday, April 21.

In addition, it will honour entrepreneurs who have excelled at developing successful businesses, employment generation and contribute to growth of the country’s economy.

Mr. Sam Ato Gaisie, Founder and President of Entrepreneurs Foundation of Ghana — main organisers of the awards — in an interview with the Ghana News Agency in Accra said: “It is to provide the Ghanaian Community with a phenomenal event of entrepreneurship, inspiration and celebration.”

Other collaborators are Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development; Ghana Chamber of Commerce and Industry; the Entrepreneur Magazine; and Deloitte and Touche.

The theme for the awards is: “Unleashing Entrepreneurial Capabilities to Meet the Global Challenges of the 21st Century.”

Mr. Ato Gaisie said some outstanding Ghanaian and foreign resident entrepreneurs nominated to receive honours include Dr. Joseph Siaw Agyepong, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of ZoomLion Ghana, and J.A. Plant Pool.

Others are, Mr. Ramcharnd Udharam Mohinani, Founder and Chairman, Mohinani Group of Companies; Sir Sam Jonah, Executive Chairman, Jonah Capital; and Mr. Bhagwan Khubchandani, Chairman of Melcom Group of Companies.

The rest are Mr. Edward Boateng, Executive Chairman, Global Media Alliance & Silverbird Entertainment Ghana; D.r Kwaku Frimpong, CEO Champion Divine Clinic, Mr Salem Kalmoni, CEO, Japan Motors Group of Companies and Dr Theresa Oppong-Beeko, CEO Manet Group of Companies.

Other nominees are Mr. Mike Nyinaku, CEO Beige Capital Group; Mr. Frank Owusu-Sekyere, CEO Baron Distilleries Limited; Mr. William Ato Essien, CEO First Capital Plus Savings and Loans; and Mr. James Ebo Whyte, CEO Roverman Productions.

The rest are Yonny Emmanuel Kulendi, Esquire, Managing Solicitor Kulendi @ Law; Mr. John Daniel Otoo, CEO Capital 02 Natural Health Co. Ltd; Dr. Felix Kwaku Anyah, CEO Holy Trinity Medical & Spa Centre; Mr. Samuel Amo Tobbin, CEO Tobinco Pharmaceutical Group of Companies; Mr. Magnus Nunoo, CEO Magvlyn Industries, Ghana.

Other nominees are Mr. Sydney Baeta, Managing Director, ExperTravel-HRG Ghana; Mr. Kimathi Mawuse Dake, CEO Jescan Constructions; Mr. Herman Chinery-Hesse, Executive Chairman, the Soft Tribe & BSL Ghana; Reverend Professor Kingsley E. Larbi, President and CEO Regent University College of Science and Technology; and Mr. Kenneth Okosun, Chairman, KRIF Ghana and The Stationery.

Others listed are Chief Yaw Kumey, CEO Y. Kumey International Group; Dr. Fawzi Wolley, Chairman, Kwatsons Group of Companies; Mr. Talal Fatal, CEO Metro TV & Optimum Media Prime; Mrs Edith Dankwa, Executive Director, Business & Financial Times; Mrs. Norkor Duah, CEO Lintas Lowe Ltd; Mr. Isaac Tetteh, CEO T.T Brothers; Mr. Macdonald Vasnani, CEO Consolidated Shipping Agencies; Mr. Stephen Osei Akoto CEO, MPlaza & Mariset Hotel & Tours; and Nana Odeneho Kyeremanteng, Executive Chairman, Comet Properties.

Mr. Ato Gaisie said categories being competed for are: Overall Best Entrepreneur for 2011, Young Entrepreneur, Lifetime Achievement, Ghanaian International Entrepreneur Achievement, Serial Entrepreneur, Outstanding Achievement, Special Achievement and Most Promising, Woman Entrepreneur.

He said there will be awards in Professional Services, ICT, Banking & Finance, Manufacturing Industry, Office Suppliers & Stationery, Pharmaceuticals Industry, Advertising & Marketing Communications, Electronic Media, Print Media & Publishing, Media Communications and Entertainment, Education, Health Services and Herbal Services.

Others are Food and Beverage, Transportation & Logistics, Hospitality Industry, Travel and Tourism, Real Estate Development, Commercial & Property Development, Building & Civil Engineering, and Trading & Retailing.

The maiden edition was held on April 15, 2011 to commemorate World Entrepreneurship Day.

Prince Kofi Amoabeng, CEO of UT Group, was adjudged the Overall Best Entrepreneur for 2010.

View the original article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.