Southern African Development Community (SADC)
Southern African Development Community (SADC)

A top Southern African diplomat on Friday raised concern over the implementation of intra-regional trade.

Speaking at the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Council of Ministers Meeting in Windhoek, capital of Namibia, SADC Executive Secretary Stergomena Lawrence Tax said trade within the region remains low despite concerted efforts to improve it by members states.

“While intra-SADC trade is increasing at a slow pace, the region’s total trade with the world remains small at between 15 percent and 21 percent,” Tax said.

She called for “the need to intensify implementation of the SADC Industrialization Strategy and Roadmap.”

According to Tax, economic growth in the region has slowed down, thus compromising macroeconomic convergence.

SADC groups Angola, Botswana, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Enditem


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.