Nearly 160 Nations to Convene in Washington, D.C. in the Name of Science and Technology Development at DAR Constitution Hall on July 16-1.

Today, the all-female robotics teams from Afghanistan received official approval from the U.S. Embassy in Kabul to journey to the United States to compete alongside 157 other nations in this year’s FIRST Global Challenge, the first annual robotics competition aimed at inspiring the youth of the world to pursue careers in STEM.

FIRST Global President, former U.S. Navy Admiral and Congressman Joe Sestak said, “I truly believe our greatest power is the power to convene, to bring nations together where people find that they have in common is greater than their differences. This is why I am most grateful to the US Government and the State Department for ensuring that Afghanistan — as well as Gambia, Yemen, Libya, and Vanuatu this past week — would be able to join us for this international competition.”

With a mission to inspire the 2 billion youth of the world to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, FIRST Global was founded by accomplished inventor Dean Kamen to promote amicable relations among countries through Coopertition® (cooperation in competition) and Gracious Professionalism®.

The 2017 FIRST Global Challenge, the inaugural international robotics competition taking place in Washington, D.C., will belivestreamed here starting on July 16 at 5:30 PM EDT (9:30 PM GMT) and July 17-18 at 8:30 AM EDT (12:30 PM GMT).