The champions lost their final game of the season 2-1 to Sunshine Stars.

Kano Pillars are champions of the Nigeria Premier League despite losing their final game of the season 2-1 at Sunshine Stars on Friday.

Pillars, champions in 2008, finished top of the table on 61 points from 36 matches after Ocean Boys were thrown out of the competition for missing two straight games.

A 2-1 loss to Sunshine Stars on the final day of action was not enough to stop the victory party for Pillars.

Speaking with, John Boyi Yampe said he is happy winning NPL title for the first time and will savour the experience for long.

“It is a great moment for me and my mates, it is great to be a champion. Though we lost the game, I don’t care about that, what matters is the championship. I will savour this for long,” he said.

Pillars coach Mohammed Baba Ganaru said, “Both teams gave a good account of themselves, I was not happy that we lost but I thank God for giving us the trophy. It is a great moment here.”

Sunshine Stars would have whitewashed Pillars after creating a lot of chance only to convert two. Nasiru Ali scored first for Pillars in the fourth minute, before Dele Olorundare equalised for Sunshine with a low drive in
the 21st minute.

Ajani Ibrahim scored the winner in the 75th minute when he chipped the ball over Afelokhai in goal for the Kano side.

It was Ajani Ibrahim?s first and only goal for Sunshine this season after he scored 19 goals last term.

Kaduna United thrashed Lobi Stars 3-1 to escape the drop and in the process denied Lobi Stars a place in the CAF Champions League next year.

Lobi went into that game in second place ahead of Rangers but will now campaign in CAF Confederation Cup after they slipped to third place.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.