Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic can become the eighth man to claim a career Grand Slam in the French Open final on Sunday when he takes on world No. 9 Stan Wawrinka.

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic

Only Fred Perry, Don Budge, Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and Nadal have won all four majors.
Djokovic takes a 17-3 career lead against Wawrinka whose win over the Serb in the 2014 Australian Open quarter-finals put him on the way to his first, and so far only, major title.
It also snapped an eight-year losing streak against the eight-time Grand Slam winner.
Djokovic will be playing in his third French Open final having lost the 2012 and 2014 championship matches to nine-time Paris champion Rafael Nadal.
This year’s encounter comes early for the two, Djokovic handed Nadal just his second ever loss at Roland Garros in the quarterfinals and then seeing off world No. 3 Andy Murray in five sets in a semifinal stretched over two days.
Should the Serb win the red clay major over Wawrinka finally, he would be halfway to a calendar Grand Slam, a challenge so daunting that only Budge (1938) and Laver (1962 and 1969) have managed to pull it off.
Djokovic and Wawrinka have met six times on clay and the Swiss has won just one of those — in Umag in the pair’s first clash way back in 2006 and even that was through a retirement.
Djokovic also came out on top in their most recent battle, a five-set marathon in the Australian Open semifinals in January where the Serb clinched the deciding set 6-0. Enditem



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.