Nigeria on Tuesday assumed the rotational presidency of the United Nations Security Council for April.
The Permanent Representative of Nigeria to the UN Mrs Joy Ogwu, took over the role from Mr Sylvie Lucas, the representative of Luxembourg.
Nigeria was elected on Oct. 17, 2013 by the UN General Assembly as a non- permanent member to the UN Security Council for 2014-2015.
This is the fifth time Nigeria would be representing West Africa on the UN body. It was elected to serve on the council in 1966-67, 1978-79, 1994-1995 and 2010-2011.
Ogwu listed her priority for April to include three open debates to address the.Middle East, women, peace and security and on the initiative of Nigeria, maintenance of international peace and security.
She also said other issues that could be taken up included the Central African Republic and Ukraine.
Under the UN Charter, the 15-member Security Council has the primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.
The council is composed of five permanent members ? China, United States, Britain, France, and Russia and 10 non-permanent members.
The presidency of the Council rotates among the members on a monthly basis according to the English-language alphabetical order of the countries? names.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.