Niger State House of Assembly has elected Hon. Isah Mohammed Kawu as the new Speaker.

This is following the unanimous decision of the Assembly members when 19 of the 25 members of the assembly impeached the Speaker, Hon. Adamu Usman.

Kawu was first elected Speaker in 2012 but was impeached after one legislative week.

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker commended his colleagues for honour done him.

He also called for people?s understanding and appealed that no erroneous meaning be read to the change in leadership of the house.

Also impeached are deputy speaker, Hon. Abdulraham Bala Gambo, Majority leader, Hon. Haruna Labaran and Chief Whip, Hon. Abdullahi Lawal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.