Joseph Yammin

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) held primaries to elect candidates for the newly created five constituencies in the Ashanti Region yesterday.

The constituencies included Konongo, Atwima Nwabiagya North, Ejisu, Asante Akim Central and Afram Plains North.

The Ashanti Regional Secretary of the ruling NDC, Joseph Yamin, told DAILY GUIDE that two candidates in the persons of Jude Atuahene of Konongo and Adomako of Afram Plains North constituencies won by popular acclamation.

He added that the other three of the candidates, Nana Akwasi Augustus of Ejisu, Daniel Osei Kwadwo of Asante Akim Central, and the Presiding Member of Atwima Nwabiagya went through competitive elections to secure their slots.

While Nana Akwasi Augustus beat R. P. K. Gyamebi, former constituency secretary of the party, to clinch victory, his colleague, Daniel Osei Kwadwo beat Ernest Robert Kwarteng for the Asante Akim Central seat, Yamin stated.

He could not tell the paper the name of the candidate for the Atwima Nwabiagya North constituency, since he was out of office, except to say that he is the MP for the district.

He thanked the NDC members for the peaceful and smooth process of the elections, and urged both the winners and losers to team up and work for the party to win the needed votes in the region.

From Ernest Kofi Adu, Kumasi

View the original article here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.