The NDP was founded in the wake of the death of NDC President Prof. John Evans Atta Mills in July 2012.


Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings had been a 2011 rival of Atta Mills prior to his re-nomination as NDC candidate for president.

The NDP announced its formation as part of the opposition to the NDC’s candidate, and President John Dramani Mahama for the 7 December 2012 presidential election.

However, the NDP was announced on 6 July 2012 by its Interim General Secretary, Dr Manboah Rockson, and was said to be born of dissatisfaction with the NDC, which had often been personified by the Rawlingses and their supporters.

Former populist military head of state Jerry John Rawlings had formed the NDC in 1992, and had led the party as President of Ghana from 1993 to 2001, although he had differences with his successor Atta Mills.

For this year’s congress, the NDP is expecting over 2,000 delegates from across all 10 regions.

Positions that will be contested for in addition to the Flagbearer position, are the National Chairman and Vice Chairpersons, General Secretary and two Deputies, Youth leader and two Deputies, National Women’s leader and two Deputies and the Communications Director and two Deputies.

The election will be supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC).

The party’s Communication Director, Ernest Owusu Bempah, said preparation is underway for the congress and that as at close of nomination on Thursday, only Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings had picked and submitted a form for the flagbearer position.

“As I am talking to you nobody has come out to pick forms apart from Nana konadu Agyeman Rawlings and we are waiting to see what will come out of it.” Mr. Bempah told Citi Fm.

Some notable happenings In NDP

The NDP held its first national congress at Baba Yara Stadium Kumasi on 13 October 2012, endorsing Agyeman Rawlings as its leader.

In that congress, Former President Jerry John Rawlings gave a speech saying his former party had lost the “moral high ground” and promising a “proper revolution” within the NDC, saying the party’s selection process had been corrupt.

Meanwhile, the Interim General Secretary Dr Manboah Rockson resigned from the NDP just before the founding congress, saying he was returning to the NDC.

Hanford Amoako, former MP for Nkoranza was named Interim General Secretary to replace him.

The 13 October congress named National Chairman of the party, Dr.Josiah Aryeh and other officers included Hilarius Abiwu and David Sunu to lead the party.

Source: Newsghana.com.gh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.