President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Tuesday, announced his nominees for regional ministerial positions, including two legislators.

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

At a news conference at the Flagstaff House in Accra, President Akufo-Addo said the nomination of the 10 personalities had been referred to Parliament for approval.

Mr Suleiman Alhassan, an educationist, is the nominee for the Upper West Region, while Mr Kwamena Duncan, a teacher and agricultural scientist, who is the New Patriotic Party’s Central Regional Secretary, is the nominee for the Central Region.

Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, a medical doctor, public servant, and Member of Parliament for Sefwi Wiawso, is for the Western Regional ministerial nominee.

Mr Eric Kwakye Darfour, MP for Nkawkaw is for the Eastern Region, while

Mr Rockson Bukari, a politician and a one-time MCE for the Bolgatanga Municipal Assembly, is the nominee for the Upper East region.

Mr Simon Osei-Mensah, a legal practitioner and former MP for the Hospital Constituency, is the Ashanti Regional nominee.

Mr Ishmael Ashitey, a former Fisheries Minister in the Kufuor Administration, and the Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the NPP, is the Greater Accra Regional nominee.

Salifu Sa-eed, a former District Chief Executive of the Nanumba North in the Kufuor Administration and a businessman, is for Northern Region.

Mr Kwaku Asomah-Cheremeh, a lawyer and the Regional Chairman of the Party in the Brong Ahafo, is the President’s nominee for that region.

Dr. Archibald Yaw Letsa, a medical doctor, entrepreneur and politician would represent the President in the Volta Region, when approved.

Mr Letsa has unsuccessfully contested the Ho Parliamentary seat twice on the ticket of the NPP.

President Akufo-Addo appealed to Parliament to expedite the approval of the nominees for the machinery of State to grind effectively and efficiently.

The announcement is in accordance with Article 256(1)(b) of the 1992 Constitution, which mandates the President to appoint a Minister for each region of Ghana, with the express approval of Parliament.

Source: GNA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here