Millennium Marathon
Millennium Marathon

A total of 16 Members of Parliament (MP) will run this year’s London Marathon, smashing all previous records for MP entries. The previous record of nine was set in 2014, organizers said here on Wednesday.

The 16 include three women MPs – another record – including one from the Scottish National Party, Hannah Bardell, the first SNP member ever to run.

A total of 70 MPs have run the London Marathon since 1981.

The Conservative Party provides the majority of the running politicians with nine to Labour’s five, although in 70-year-old Kevin Barron, Labour does boast the oldest and the first knighted MP to run. There are no Liberal Democrats.

Matthew Parris holds the record as the fastest MP. His five London Marathon times (1981-85) are all faster than the next best, Doug Henderson. Enditem

Source: Xinhua/