President John Dramani Mahama seems to be sprinkling a lot of surprises in the appointment of Ministers to serve in his government.

Since taking office, he has made a number of appointments most of which have not gone down well with some members of his own party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

What appears to have surprised most is the fact that he has dropped key and influential cabinet ministers in the old NDC administration who were appointed by his former boss, the late President John Evans Atta Mills.

These include the exclusion of the names of Water Resources, Works and Housing Minister, Enoch Teye Mensah who has been replaced with former Transport Minister and Member of Parliament (MP) for Asutifi South, Alhaji Collins Dauda whilst Health Minister, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin has also been replaced with Madam Sherry Ayittey, the former Minister for Environment, Science and Technology.

E.T. Mensah, Bagbin and their colleague former Majority Leader Cletus Avoka, who has also been disappointed have now been compensated with jobs as coordinators of the implementation of presidential priority projects relating to the construction of 200 high schools, 10 teacher training colleges and one public university in the Eastern Region and a host of others.

It took the intervention of NDC supporters in Tamale to save the head off Communications Minister, Haruna Iddrisu, from suffering a similar fate.

Haruna, who had highly been tipped for the position of Minister of Energy and Petroleum, was dribbled, with the position being given to former Deputy Energy Minister, Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah upon pressure from chiefs of in the Western Region who vowed to reject any nomination apart from a son or native of the land.

The exclusion of his name from earlier nominations sparked confusion up North, with his supporters running riot; breaking every billboard of the President in sight.

His supporters however managed to do some magic with his name coming up in the third of ministerial nominations released late Sunday evening with Haruna now Minister designate for Trade and Industry.

More Surprises
Former Deputy Minister of Environment, Science and Technology, Dr Omane Boamah, now takes over from Haruna as Minister of Communications whilst Information Minister, Fritz Baffour has also been sacrificed for Bawku Central MP Mahama Ayariga who has now been nominated for the position.

Other big fishes who have been swept away by the tidal wave of the sweeping tsunami include Finance and Economic Planning Minister Dr Kwabena Duffuor who has been kicked out and replaced with one of his two Deputies, Seth Terkper whilst Education Minister Lee Ocran has also been shown the exit and replaced with former Vice Chancellor of the University of Cape Coast Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang.

Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo has been axed and replaced with Akwasi Oppong Fosu whilst Roads and Transport Minister Joe Gidisu who was thick in the President?s campaign tours across the country has also been dropped and replaced with Dzifa Attivor, his deputy.

Others including Lands and Natural Resources Minister Mike Hammah have also been axed and replaced with Tamale Central MP and former Minister of Energy, Inusah Fuseini.

Equally affected is Foreign Minister Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni whose appointment has been revoked and replaced with Madam Hannah Tetteh who was Communications Director for the President?s campaign team for the 2012 elections.

Unconfirmed reports have it that Alhaji Mumuni turned down an offer from the President to become the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Interior Minister William Aboah and his colleague Defence Minister Lt Gen. Joseph Henry Smith have both been pushed out and replaced with former Agric Minister Kwesi Ahwoi as Interior Minister designate and former Upper East Regional Minister, Mark Woyongo as Defence Minister.

Daily Guide


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.