Uhuru Kenyatta
Uhuru Kenyatta

In a statement, Kenyatta said he has nominated Philip K. B. Kinusu as the Chairperson of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) to replace Mumo Matemu, who resigned in May.

Uhuru Kenyatta
Uhuru Kenyatta
“The president also nominated Dabar Abdi Maalim, Paul Mwaniki Gachoka, Sophia Lepuchirit and Rose Mghoi Mtambo Macharia as members of EACC,” the statement added.

The five will replace five commissioners who also resigned in May.

The nomination comes at a time when the EACC has been criticized by the president for inaction over graft in the country.

Kenyans have raised complaints cases reported to the anti-graft commission were not acted upon.

Kenyatta termed corruption as “a national security threat” and vowed to sustain fight against corruption to help attract investment and tackle insecurity which have deterred investors in the country. Enditem

Source: Xinhua


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.