National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale

National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale

The much-hyped censure motion by the eight legislators against Duale following a notice of motion by Kieni MP Kanini Kega could well be on its death bed and as a mere political grand standing for the Jubilee coalition to prove a point.

It is understood Jubilee leadership dismissed the motion causing anxiety that led to isolation of at least the proponents of the motion.

A move that has sparked outraged among North Eastern leaders after a meeting at Intercontinental Hotel on Thursday with the Nyeri leaders, who are demanding compensation for the terror victims as a condition to drop the Duale matter.

The MPs behind the move to impeach Duale include Senator Mutahi Kagwe (Nyeri), Kabando wa Kabando (Mukurwe-ini), Kega, Priscilla Nyokabi (County MP), Esther Murugi (Nyeri Town), Mary Wambui (Othaya), Ndung?u Githenji (Tetu) and Peter Weru (Mathira).

It also emerged that Central Kenya MPs were pushing for compensation of victims of various terror attacks in various regions within Northern Kenya in their meeting with the political leadership which happened in a city hotel on Thursday. ?Our colleagues are adamant they want us to shoulder the burden of compensation. We have not agreed or given any commitment,? said an MP from Wajir County, who declined to be named.

See Also: Meru leaders volunteer to offer Ruto a running mate in 2022 general elections
He continued, ?We had a serious discussion but will take a stand as a community. The terror incidents in North Eastern region can happen anywhere. Duale talked about the list on behalf of the regional leadership and should not be crucified for the same.?

Collective position

The meeting brought together 16 MPs from Nyeri and Northern Kenya counties where the latter largely drawn from across political divide pledged to take a collective position in support of Duale.

Similarly, Nyeri MPs also sought assurance from their North Eastern colleagues that their constituent?s security will be guaranteed going forward.

Those in attendance included Senator Billow Kerrow (Mandera) Mohammed Mumat (Mandera West), Mohammed Elmi (Tarbaj), senator Abdurrahman Ali (wajir), Abdikadir ore (Wajir west), Mohammed Noor (Mandera North), Barre Shill (Fafi) among others.

From Nyeri county was Nyokabi, Kabando, Weru, Kega and Githenji.

By Roselyn Obala, The Standard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.