Dr Ben K.D. Asante, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Ghana National Gas Company, emerged the Male Energy Personality of the year at the third 2019 Energy Awards held in Accra.

Madam Salma Okonkwo, the CEO of UBI Group, won the female Energy Personality of the year.

In the non-competitive awards, Mr John Peter Amewu, the Minister of Energy, was acknowledged as the Exemplary Leadership Award for his immense contribution to the energy sector.

Mr Alexander Erasmus Kalitsi, former CEO of Volta River Authority (VRA) won the Lifetime Achievement Award and Mr Benjamin Boakye, the Executive Director of the Africa Centre for Energy Policy won the Osagyefo Young Leadership Award for his influence in the energy sector through policy direction, capacity building and advocating for inclusion of Persons with Disability in the extractives sector.

This was in a statement signed by Mr Henry Teinor, the Event Director of the Ghana Energy Awards, and copied to the Ghana News Agency in Accra.

In all 11 outstanding personalities and 17 organisations within the country’s energy sector were honoured for their efforts and innovation toward the growth of the sector.

The event was held under theme: “Energy, the Key to a Sustainable Economy for Industrialisation”.
The Minister of Energy said the awards was a well-thought out scheme to recognised the force behind development in the sector.

He said the country was doing well in terms of power generation and exporting to Togo and surrounding countries.
Mr Amewu said government is committed to ensure that all power and related agreements in the sector would benefit the country.

Mr Teinor said the awards scheme had been better in all respects and duly been accepted as the industry benchmark.
“The scheme has consistently realized its aim of acknowledging and honouring deserving individuals and companies in Ghana’s energy sector”, he added.

For the individual awards, Mr Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, the CEO of VRA as the CEO of the Year in the Power category while Mr Alhassan Tampuli, the CEO of the National Petroleum Authority won the CEO of the year in the Petroleum category.

Mr Ernest Amissah, the CEO of Sun Power Innovations, won the Rising Star Award in the Individual category.
In the company categories, PETROSOL won the Rising Star Award in the petroleum downstream category.

Ghana’s upstream regulator, Petroleum Commission won the Energy Institution of the Year award while both the Innovation Project of the Year and the Clean Energy Initiative of the Year awards went to VRA.

Springfield Group also emerged winner in the Strategic Deal of the Year category.

The Industry Leadership Award for the ‘Power’ category went to the Ghana Grid Company while the Ghana Oil Company emerged winner in the ‘Petroleum’ Category.

In the media category, Mr Michael Creg Afful of Oman FM won the Best Energy Reporter of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.