?Today the Financial Times announced the panel of judges participating in the FT/Citi Ingenuity Awards: Urban Ideas in Action programme, sponsored by Citi. The judges, all leaders in their respective fields, will select the most innovative solutions to urban challenges in the fields of education, healthcare, energy and infrastructure.

“The majority of the world’s population now lives in cities, drawn to them by the promise of employment and a better life,? said Michael Skapinker, Assistant Editor and Editor of Special Reports at the Financial Times. ?Alongside cities’ dynamism go the strains of over-crowding and congestion. Throughout the world, however, individuals and groups are coming up with inventive solutions to the problems of urban living. Our judging panel, all esteemed experts in their fields, will honour the best of city innovators.”

?We are pleased these industry leaders will share their expertise to recognise the ingenious individuals who are developing practical solutions that positively and fundamentally impact cities,? said Francesco Vannid?Archirafi, CEO, Citi Transaction Services. ?The demands on cities have never been greater than they are today. Through Citi?s sponsorship of this program, we are excited to highlight those who are helping cities realise a better, more efficient future for all.?

The judging panel includes:

  • David Adjaye, OBE,?Principal Architect, Adjaye Architects:?Leading UK architect, current visiting professor at Princeton University School of Architecture, RIBA Chartered Member and AIA Honorary Fellow.
  • Professor Abhijit Banerjee, Economist:?Current Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; co-author of?Poor Economics: A Radical Rethinking of the Way to Fight Global Poverty.
  • John Bowis, OBE, Honorary President, Health First Europe:?Former UK Health Minister, former member of the UK Parliament, former member of the European Parliament and Lead Coordinator & Spokesman for the Environment & Health Parliamentary Committee.
  • Sir Terry Farrell, CBE,?International Architect & Design Champion and Director, Terry Farrell and Partners:?Leading architect, currently on the London Mayor?s Design Advisory Panel and Outer London Commission, author of many books including?Shaping London.
  • Reinier de Graaf, Partner, OMA:?Architect and Partner of architecture and design office OMA, frequent lecturer in academia.
  • Dame Zaha Hadid, DBE, Founder, Zaha Hadid Architects: (Honorary President of the judging committee, non-voting):?Internationally known for her built, theoretical and academic work; awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize (considered to be the Nobel Prize of architecture) in 2004; recent projects include the MAXXI museum in Rome and London Aquatics Centre, London 2012 Olympics.
  • Edwin Heathcote, Architecture and Design Critic, Financial Times (co-chair):?Architect, designer and FT critic since 1999; also authored several books, including?Monument Builders: Modern Architecture and Death.
  • Bruno Lanvin, Executive Director, INSEAD eLab (co-chair): Executive Director of INSEAD?s eLab, a global knowledge engine focused on four main areas: IT-based competitiveness, internet and social media, innovation leadership and 21st century skills.
  • Professor Carlo Ratti, Italian Architect and Engineer:?Founding Partner of design practice ‘carlorattiassociati’ and Director of the MIT Senseable City Lab at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
  • Luanne Zurlo, Founder and President, Worldfund:?Former Wall Street Securities analyst (Smith Barney, CSFB and Goldman Sachs) and founder of Worldfund, a nonprofit using education to fight poverty in Latin America.

Submissions have been received from 41 countries, including: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kenya, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nepal, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Uganda, U.A.E., the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.