The draw for the 2014 African Nations Championship (CHAN) will take place on Monday, September 16, in Cairo, organisers have announced.

According to the Confederation of African Football (CAF), the ceremony will be held at its headquarters in the Egyptian capital.

The draw will see 16 teams divided into four groups of four teams each for the tournament billed for South Africa next year. It will be held from January 11 to February 1.

Ghana?s locally-based Black Stars booked their place for the final tournament after opponents Benin withdrew from the qualifiers.

Others to have booked their places for the tournament are hosts South Africa, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Congo, Ethiopia, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria and Uganda.

The identities of the remaining four finalists will be known after the final round of qualifiers at the end of August after which the seedings for the draw will be revealed.

Meanwhile, CAF has confirmed the host cities for the tournament as Cape Town, Bloemfontein and Polokwane.

The CHAN is a tournament designed for only footballers playing in their countries of birth. The first edition was held in 2009 in Cote d?Ivoire and the second in The Sudan in 2011.

Ghana?s team were losing finalists in the maiden edition but exited at the group stage on their second attempt. (Graphic Sports)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.