The National Independent Electoral Commission (CENI) in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo) announced on Thursday gubernatorial elections for the newly created provinces will take place on Aug. 31, 2015.

DR Congo
DR Congo
According to CENI, a total of 21 provinces that were carved out of the former provinces will participate in the elections.

DR Congo which initially had 11 provinces, has been sub-divided into 26 provinces, including the Kinshasa provincial town.

The operation to officially launch the new provinces which began this week, has sharply divided the government and opposition sides, given that the boundary demarcation came very close to the elections.

Those supporting boundary demarcation argue the operation will make it easier to govern the new provinces, since former provinces such as Equateur or Katanga were bigger than countries like Spain, thus making it difficult to administer them.

Those opposed to the new provinces have argued that the demarcation will punish some smaller territories that are not rich in minerals, and that the sub-division is meaningless if it is not accompanied with decentralization of real power. Enditem


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.