Democratic Republic of Congo’s National Independent Electoral Commission (CENI) has postponed gubernatorial elections in the newly created provinces from Aug. 31 to Oct. 6, 2015.

DR Congo
DR Congo
In a statement issued on Tuesday, CENI announced an extension of the period for filing nomination documents for governors and their deputies to Aug. 21.

CENI rapporteur Jean-Pierre Kalamba attributed the postponement to certain difficulties encountered by stakeholders and the political parties.

On July 23, CENI announced that election of governors and deputy governors in the provinces created after a recent boundary delimitation would take place on Aug. 31. Twenty one of the newly created provinces will participate in the elections.

DR Congo which had 11 provinces, has been divided into 26 provinces, including the Kinshasa provincial town.
Speaking on the electoral timetable, Kalamba did not rule out the possibility of amending the initial timetable released in February 2015 in case of an overlap of the local and gubernatorial elections. Enditem


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.