Some of the players line-up before swearing the oath

Fifteen Premier clubs, minus King Faisal, have sworn to uphold the principles of FIFA Fair Play and competiveness ahead of the 2012/13 league season.

Led by Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Felix Anang, the 15 clubs recited a fair play oath yesterday at the launch of the league at the GFA secretariat in Accra.

The clubs also displayed their home and away strips, and the competition?s organizers, Premier League Board (PLB), instructed that all clubs wear their home colours in all games unless it clashes with that of the home team.

It also emerged that clubs would be mandated to hold a 10-minute pre and post-match press conferences and the winner of the forthcoming season is likely to receive a 33-seater bus.

The chairman of PLB, Welbeck Yaw Abra-Appiah announced the official induction of newly-promoted sides, Amidaus Professionals, RTU and Faisal and urged them to esteem hard work to ensure survival.

He revealed that the second window of registration for the league would be opened four weeks to the end of the first round. He indicated that every club can register only 50 players for both the regular and reserve sides.

The PLB boss urged Kotoko, defending league champions, to defeat New Edubiase in their Champion of Champions clash at the Accra Stadium tomorrow.

?I urge Kotoko to go all out to win the champion of champions against Edubiase. Kotoko, don?t let us down, you have to demonstrate to the whole world that you won the league on merit,? Abra-Appiah said.

He promised to put measures in place to ensure that the league improves on its current third position in Africa and 38th in the world.

Meanwhile, the PLB inspection team has given an ultimatum to venues that do not meet premier league standards to upgrade them or face temporal closure.

By Kofi Owusu Aduonum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.