2017 AFCON: Ghana in Pot 1 for draw for Africa's flagship tournament Ghana Black Stars have been drawn in Pot 1 for the AFCON draw

Ghana?s national team the Black Stars have been in Pot 1 for Wednesday?s 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) draw in Cairo.

A total of 52 teams will go into the draw for the qualifiers, and will be drawn into 13 groups from which only the top team will automatically progress to the finals of the tournament.

On top of the hosts and 13 group winners, the two best-placed runners-up will also make it into the final 16.

Morocco will also be in the draw after the Court of Arbitration for Sport revoked CAF?s decision to ban the country from the next two AFCON tournaments.

The first round of qualifying fixtures will take place between June 8-16.

CAF will announce the AFCON 2017 hosts at about 13:00 Ghana time, with the group stage draw will be conducted shortly after.

Algeria are favourites to be named hosts, but will face competition from Ghana and Gabon.

If Algeria or Ghana are awarded hosting rights, South Africa will move into Pot 1, with Mozambique moving into Pot 2 and Namibia into Pot 3.

AFCON 2017 Pots:

Pot 1:
Ivory Coast, Ghana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Nigeria, Algeria, Zambia, Cape Verde, DRC, Guinea, Senegal, Cameroon

Pot 2:
South Africa, Gabon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Ethiopia, Togo, Morocco, Niger, Egypt, Uganda, Malawi, Sudan

Pot 3:
Mozambique, Botswana, Libya, Sierra Leone, Lesotho, Kenya, Benin, Rwanda, Tanzania, CAR, Zimbabwe, Liberia, Gambia

Pot 4:
Namibia, Guinea Bissau, Seychelles, Burundi, Mauritania, Chad, Madagascar, Sao Tome, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan, Mauritius, Djibouti


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.