Ghana Black Starlets 300x185 Black Stars 26 man list for AFCON revealed

The 26-man squad that will be representing Ghana at the Orange AFCON 2013 tournament has been released.

The announcement was made by Black Stars coach, Kwesi Appiah at a media briefing on Thursday.

The players include:

Adam Kwarasey
Fatal Dawuda
Daniel Adjei

Isaac Vorsah
John Boye
Jonathan Mensah
John Painstil
Harrison Afful
Richard Kissi Boateng
Awal Mohammed
Rashid Sumaila
Jerry Akaminko

Albert Adomah
Kwadwo Asamoah
Christian Atsu
Andre Ayew
Emmanuel Agyeman Badu
Derrick Boateng
Mubarack Wakaso
Solomon Asante
Rabiu Mohammed

Richmond Boakye Yiadom
Yaya Mohammed
Asamoah Gyan
Emmanuel Clottey

The Black Stars of Ghana have been drawn in Group B for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations alongside Mali, Niger and DR Congo.

Tournament host South Africa are in Group A with Cape Verde, Morocco and Angola.

Meanwhile, fellow top seeds and pre-tournament favourites Ivory Coast head Group D, which also contains Togo, Algeria and Tunisia.

Defending champions Zambia, are in Group C, arguably the easiest of the draw, which will see Chipolopolo square off against minnows Burkina Faso and Ethiopia, although the group also contains big hitters Nigeria.

2013 Africa Cup of Nations Groups:

Group A: South Africa, Cape Verde, Morocco, Angola

Group B: Ghana, Niger, DR Congo, Mali

Group C: Zambia, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Nigeria

Group D: Ivory Coast, Togo, Algeria, Tunisia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.