Some big names in Ghana?s Legislature will be missing from the 2013 Parliament as they have lost their seats.

Deputy Minority leader, Ambrose Derry lost to Attorney General Benjamin Kumbour in the Nandom constituency. This means Benjamin Kumbour has won the seat he previously lost to the Minority Leader four years ago.

He polled 13,735 against Ambrose Derry?s 6,538 votes.

Minister for Lands & Natural Resources, Hon. Mike Hammah has also lost his second term bid to represent the people of the Efutu Constituency. He lost to NPP?s Alexander Afenyo-Markin by 2, 085.

Mr. Afenyo-Markin got 19, 062 while Mike Hammah polled 16,977.

In the Central Region, the incumbent and Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry Dr. J. S. Annan lost the seat to the NPP?s Dr. Nana Ato Dadzie in the Komenda Edina Eguafo-Abbriem (KEEA) constituency.

Nana Ato Dadzie won with 22,151 against Dr. Annan?s 13,952.

Dr. Ato Quarshie who lost the NDC primaries and went independent performed better in the constituency than the NDC?s candidate, J. S. Annan. Dr. Ato Quarshie polled 15, 551.

There were signs that Dr. J.S Annan would lose because the NDC supporters in the constituency had protested his candidature.

Meanwhile, in the Tema East Constituency, the MCE for Tema, Kempes Ofosu Ware has lost for the second time, this time to the NPP?s Titus Glover who won with just three votes.

More soon?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.