Electoral results from the just-ended presidential and parliamentary elections indicate that the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for the Nanton Constituency, Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed, has lost his seat to the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP’s) Mohammed Hardi Tuferu.

The NPP candidate beat Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed with 11,346 votes as against Murtala’s 10,451 votes.

Murtala Mohammed, deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, served his constituents for only one term in parliament.

The Northern Regional Minister who doubles as the National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary candidate for the Walewale Constituency, Abdallah Abubakari, was unable to unseat the incumbent NPP MP, Dr. Sagre Bambangi.

The NPP man retained the seat with 26,431 votes whiles the Northern Regional Minister, Abdallah Abubakari, had 23,851.

Upper West

The Deputy Communications Director of the NPP, Anthony Abayifa Karbo, won the Lawra seat in the Upper West Region.

He beat the former Upper West Regional Minister, Bede Zeideng and the incumbent Samson Abu who won on the ticket of the NDC in 2012.

Other NPP candidates who lost their seats  are MPs for Sisala East: Alijata Suleman; Sisala West: Alhaji Amidu Suleman, who also happens to be the Upper West Regional Minister and Wa East: Dr. Seidu Danaa, Minister of Chieftaincy.


At the Saboba Constituency, Charles Binipom Bintin of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had 14,345, beating the incumbent Member of Parliament for the NDC, Bukari Nikpe Joseph, who had 9,738 votes.

The NPP has won a total of 17 parliamentary seats in the Northern Region in this year’s general election.

FROM Eric Kombat, Tamale


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.