The committee comprises Heads of State from Sierra Leone, Algeria, Congo Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Libya, Namibia, Senegal, Uganda and Zambia.

African Union headquarters
African Union headquarters

A statement issued Thursday by the information ministry said the meeting is expected to discuss reform of the United Nations Security Council.

At the last meeting held in Lusaka, Zambia, May last year the C10 reaffirmed Africa’s common position for demanding a permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council.

The Committee is calling for the expansion of the Security Council from 15 to 26 seats and to include two permanent seats and two new non-permanent seats for Africa.

The African Common Position, also known as Ezulwini Consensus, proposes that all members in the permanent category should have veto power.

The consensus is named after a valley in Swaziland where the agreement was made in 2005 before it was adopted at an Extraordinary Session of the Executive Council of the African Union in March 2005 in Addis Ababa. Enditem

Source: Xinhua


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.