Madam Sarah Adwoa Safo, the Incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) Parliamentary Candidate for the Dome-Kwabenya Constituency, has retained her seat with 63,488 votes.

Out of the total 93,733 votes cast in the Constituency, Madam Safo beat three aspiring parliamentary candidates namely Mr Nurudeen Mohammed of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who polled 29,392.

Mrs Martha Akpah Yeboah of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) had 366 with the People National Convention, Mr Abdul Kadiri polling 157 respectively.

Meanwhile the results showed an increase for Madam Safo who polled 63,373 representing 63.75 per cent in the 2012 elections against the NDC’s Madam Sophia Karen Ackuaku who had 35,366 representing 35.58 per cent.

On the presidential results, John Dramani Mahama of the NDC had 30,099 with Nana Addo Dankwah Akuffo Addo of the NPP having 62,793 votes.

The Convention People Party (CPP) Dr Ivor K. Greenstreet polled 66 while Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP) had 32.

Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC) had 51, with Dr Papa K. Nduom of the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP) wining 482 votes and Mr Jacob Osei Yeboah, the Independent Candidates having 17 votes and 492 ballots were however rejected at the Constituency.

In 2012 the NPP Nana Addo Dankwah Akuffo Addo polled 61,534 representing 61.93 per cent as against the NDC John Dramani Mahama who polled 37, 278 representing 37.52 per cent.

In her victory message, Madam Safo thanked all the electorates and pledged to work to their satisfaction in the coming years.

“I thank all electorates for coming out to vote for the NPP and I pledge to do my best to serve you my people, she said.

Source: GNA/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.