Thomas Teye Partey
Thomas Teye Partey

Black Stars and Atletico Madrid midfielder, Thomas Teye Partey was named the 2018 Sports Personality of the Year at the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards night on Saturday in Accra.

Partey saw off competition from dethroned world boxing champion Isaac Dogboe and Confederation of African Football (CAF) Deputy General Secretary, Anthony Baffoe.


The 25-year-old is expected to play an integral part of Black Stars Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) campaign in Egypt.

Partey also won the Male Footballer of the Year award following a challenge from four others, John Antwi, a loanee from Egyptian club Al Ahly; Kotoko goalie Felix Annan, Kassim Nuhu of German club, Hoffenheim, and Joseph Aidoo of Genk in the Belgian First Division.

For her splendid display at the recently held Under-17 Women’s World Cup in Uruguay, Black Maiden’s striker Mukarama Abdulai was awarded the Female Player of the Year with competition from Black Queen’s Faustina Ampah and Black Princesses’ Grace Asantewaa.

International Boxing Federation (IBF) Lightweight world champion, Richard Oblitey Commey, ruled over Isaac Dogboe for the Professional Boxer of the Year Award, while Janet Amponsah and Jesse Lartey scooped the Athlete of the Year award and Amateur Boxer of the Year, respectively.

Boakye Danquah of the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) who was in the same category with fellow hockey coaches; Ebenezer Frimpong, emerged as the Coach of the Year award.

The Ghana Rugby Men’s team, The Ghana Eagles, toppled the national Armwrestling team, The Golden Arms as the National Team of the Year.

National ping pong top seed Derek Abrefa and female ace player Celia Baah Danso were rewarded with the male and female table tennis players of the year award, respectively.

Alberta Ampomah and Haruna Tahiru took home the Armwrestler of the Year Award in both the female and male categories respectively, while Michael Arko and Rafatu Inusah received awards for Male and Female Rugby players of the year.

Frederick Assor beat off competition from Haruna Tahiru to sweep away the Para-athlete of the Year award and golfer Kojo Barni went home as the Professional Golfer of the year.

Young female athlete, Hor Halutie was awarded the Prospect of the Year, while ping-pong player Samuel Akayade and hockey ace Dennis Ababio received awards for dedication and valour.

Boxing promotion outfit, Cabic Promotions took the award for promoter of the year. Other special awards were given to individuals, corporate entities and persons on the night.

They were the Binatone Ghana Limited, Greater Accra Handball Association and Kickboxer Jonathan Euro, Kofikrom Pharmacy, T.I Ahmadiya Senior High School, and Ghana Revenue Authority.

The rest were Joe Lartey (first SWAG President), Casely Hayford Hall, Akwasi Frimpong,Daniel Nii Mensah,Coach Ansem Asseyeh Kwablah and Albert K Frimpong.

Dignatries present at the ceremony were, TogTogbe Afede XIV – President of National House of Chiefs, Isaac Asiamah- Minister of Sports, Mohammed Adjei Sowah – Accra

Mayor, Stephanie S. Sullivan – American Ambassador to Ghana among others top sports personalities.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.