Libya flag

The Council said in a statement the three names are respectively Agila Saleh, president of the Libyan Council of Deputies in the House of Representatives; Khalifa Ghweil, prime minister and defence minister of the General National Congress; and Nuri Abu Sahmain, president of the General National Congress.

Libya flagThey are viewed as obstructing the implementation of the Libyan Political Agreement of December 17, 2015 and the formation of a Government of National Accord in Libya.

The Council said it remains concerned about the situation in Libya, in particular about acts that threaten peace, security or stability of the country, and that impede or undermine the successful completion of Libya’s political transition.

On March 16 last year, the Council recalled that only a political solution can provide a sustainable way forward and contribute to peace and stability in Libya. It urged against actions that could exacerbate current divisions.

The legal acts adding the three names were published in the Official Journal on Friday. The Council will keep these measures under regular review in light of developments on the ground. Enditem

Source: Xinhua


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.