America?s African owned Dynamic and Diverse organization, the TorchLight Foundation has announced this year?s nomination for the TorchLight Awards. The TorchLight Awards Celebrates African Excellence in the Diaspora in the fields of culture, Philanthropy, Education and Culture. This year?s nominations were restricted to the State of Minnesota due to ineligibility of submissions from other states. ?Most submissions from out of state did not meet our criteria for eligibility. We could not verify the legitimacy of many and due to the standards of our award show; we simply could not consider these submissions. The TorchLight award is only for the best and the best only. Some categories will not be awarded this year for the same reason?. Says Stephen Ngang, the executive director of the TorchLight Foundation.

The 2nd TorchLight Award will be simulcast live on NTV on Saturday July 11, 2015 at 8 p.m. (ET)/5 p.m. (PT) from the Passion Event Center in Fridley, Minnesota. The full performance will later be available on the TorchLight Awards website.

Of all African awards in the diaspora, only the TorchLight Awards is composed of Members from all over Africa. The TorchLight Awards program lays emphasis in empowering Africans and fostering their Culture in the Diaspora. A voting board consisting of industry professionals, community leaders, teachers and scholars as well as entertainment personalities chose this year?s nominees. Balloting was conducted from June 1st 2015 and ended at 3pm on June 10th 2015.

A wide array of programs and individuals compete in each category for the coveted TorchLight Trophy. Final Voting will commence on June 27th 2015 computed by a ratio of 1:1:3 amongst the public, nominees and the voting board. To keep up with the TorchLight Awards commitment to sustainable practices, all votes must be completed by noon on July 7th, 2015. Results will be tallied and sealed until the presenters at the 2nd TorchLight Awards Ceremony open the envelopes on July 11, 2015.

The TorchLight Foundation has also announced it will give honorary awards to 3 individuals excelling in their respective fields. Munira Khalif and Harold Ekeh will receive a TorchLight award for Educational Excellence. They were both Accepted into all 8 Ivy League schools in the nation. Kadra Mohamed will receive a TorchLight award for being recognized as the first Somali-American woman to join the St. Paul Police Department. She is the first Officer in Minnesota to wear a hijab.

The complete list of nominations for the 2nd Annual TorchLight awards

Best Actor

Julian Asiedu

Elijah Kondeh

John Samuel Smith

Ken Shally Monnette

Best Actress

Debbie Shizzle

Meli Nash

Nicole Sendolo

Elian Mambo

Regina Adjao

Best Gospel Artist

Toyebi Adedipe

Helena Sere ? Kelechi

Robert Nyabwari

Kofi & The Fire Keepers

Min Tracy Harris

Best Producer

Francis Sampahh




Best Media Outlet

Jagonzy Icon Productions

Ir Media House

Voices Magazine

Tmz Radio Liberia

Mshale Newspaper

H.Hardy & Mz.Choclit Show

Best Photographer

Gifted Hands Photography

Agyei Photography

Kelechi Uchegbu

Darlington Parton

Barnabas Wamao

Best Comedian

Julian Asiedu

Kwame Anderson


Boima Freeman

Best Non-Profit

Greenlife Africa

Mawa Minnesota

Pds Image

African Immigration Services

Best African Restaurant

Snelling Caf?

Jambo Africa Restaurant

T?s Place 612) 724-8868

City Afrique Restaurant

African Deli

Best Hair Stylist


Best African Night

Scsu Night

Scsu Lsa Night

Msu Night

Umntc Night

Csbsju Night

Best African Student Association

Scsu Asa

Scsu Lsa

Asa Msu

Asa- Umntc

Asa Csbsju

Best Community






Best Male Artist


Bryan Doe

Togar Howard



Best Female Artist




Best Song

Beautiful ? Bryan Doe

Xten ? Drop It For Me

G-Rize ? Liberian Girls

That Guy ? Sampahh

I Told A Lie ? Munnah

D-12 ? Call Me Your Dadda

Best Music Video

Beautiful ? Bryan Doe

Drop It For Me ? Xten

G-Rize ? Liberian Girls

Burnsville Strong

Long Way To Go ? T.H.L

Best Video Director

Francis Sampahh

Isaac West

Sam Amrstrong


Edith Tonou

Augie Ambe

Best Dj Mn

Dj Rufus

Dj Banke

Djmighty Jeff

Dj Flex


Dj Nodeh

Dj Solo

Best Promoter

Passapassa Entertainment

Mr. York Entertainment

Dab Entertainment


Roc Citi

Kadie Dickey

Longcoin Entertainment

Best Fashion Designer

Jummy Thomas

Carmen Attikossie

Jacquiline Addison

Hilda Mauya

Eli Nyamal

Glamour Africa

Best Gospel Song

Mobby Mobisa ? Spend Na Mungu

Kofi & The Fire Keepers Feat. Devron Mitchell

Min.Tracy Harris Ft Daddy Rich -No Body Dey Like You

Kofi & The Fire Keepers Ft Titi Kabambe

Best New Artist





Jay Kofa

Best Cultural Dance Group

Ethiopian Students Association Dance Group

O.Y.A Oromo Dance Group

Asamba Dance Group

Tiyumba Dance Group

Titambe West African Dance Ensemble

Best Cultural Group



Igbo Women?s League



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.